PSL 4 schedule released, eight matches to be played in Pakistan

PSL 4 schedule released, eight matches to be played in Pakistan

LAHORE: Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises on Monday released  retention list for fourth edition of the PSL going to be held mutually in UAE and Pakistan between February 14 and March 17 next year.

The retention list was revealed by PSL management on official Tweeter account.

The fourth edition of the PSL will witness a new, sixth team, which is still to be named, participating in  event. mostly, franchises have kept the same players as previous seasons, however, minor exceptions have also been made. Brian Lara, who was part of all 3 previous seasons, will not be participating in PSL 4.

Some of prominent International cricketers include former Kiwi batsman Luke Ronchi, South-African born Kiwi cricketer Colin Munro, Windies batsman Darren Sammy, bowler Sunil Narine and British batsman Liam Dawson, among others.

South African batsman Colin Ingram, Pakistani batsman Kamran Akmal, Rilee Rossouw and tall speed gun Muhammad Irfan are appointed ambassadors to Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators and sixth team respectively. meantime, Shane Watson is taken as a mentor by Quetta Gladiators.

Local and international players who have been bought by tournaments franchises are divided into three different categories mainly platinum, diamond and gold with an additional silver category. Each team is allowed to go with a maximum retention of Ten players.

Two times champion Islamabad United will be defending its title in upcoming season of PSL.

PSL is a T20 cricket league founded in 2015 initially with 5 teams. Instead of operating as an association of independently owned teams, like  Indian Premier League (IPL), it performs as a single entity. While initial matches will be played in UAE, last eight matches including  knock-out games will be played in Pakistan. Final match is due on 17 march in Karachi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here